Your Easy Entries for the PROFITS Center's Calculators
All of the PROFITS Center Calculators do their magic with just a few inputs from you, of things you already pretty well know, like sales margins and expenses.
Remember, you just need some assumptions, best-guesstimates, places to start.
And, since it works in real time, you will be able to see the "potential outcomes" immediately. This is especially useful once you have your first draft in, and are starting to make some tweaks and adjustments.
Change any of them at any time; immediately see the new outcomes!
MONTHS - Your plan can start with any month of a 12 month period, like the upcoming month! Or, look ahead to the start of the next season. Whatever.
Select your Start month from the drop-down menu. It will set the appropriate labels for the other columns.
Estimated SALES - Enter @Retail, without sales tax. These are your estimates, your assumptions, “best-guesstimates” about what monthly sales might be.
Just get some entries in to start; you’ll be tweaking as you go.
Here's the key: Round all entries to the thousands.
Examples: $42,385.22 becomes 42.4; $5,787.92 becomes 5.8; $385.33 becomes 0.4
GROSS MARGIN % - Enter estimated Gross Margin (Gross Profit) percent for each month. (This is to calculate your Gross Margin % and your Gross Margin dollars.)
Enter maintained margin, after markdowns. Can be up to one decimal place (tenths of percent).
Examples: Enter 44, becomes 44.0%; enter 38.5, becomes 38.5%
OPERATING EXPENSES (rounded) - Enter the total monthly expenses likely for each month. This includes salary and payroll, rent, utilities, interest, fees for online services, professional services, supplies, travel, etcetera.
Remember, close counts! Use estimates. This is just your first draft.
You can easily make changes and adjustments. That's the point!
Other (Non-Mdse) Revenue (rounded) – If you have revenue from rentals, classes or events, or other sources not related to selling merchandise, enter the expected revenue from those functions in the appropriate month.
Expenses of Other Revenue (rounded) – Enter the expenses that would be incurred to generate the Other (non-merchandise) Revenue in the appropriate month.